How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Instagram

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Instagram

There are a number of reasons why a user may have blocked you on Instagram. Some people decide to block their partner after they have split up, others don't feel like certain users should be able to see their pictures or maybe this person is angry at you. In order to protect an Instagram user and follow the correct privacy policies, Instagram privacy settings allow you to block any one want to. But this means that if you can block anyone, you too can be blocked.

Whatever your case may be, you may be wondering whether you have been blocked on Instagram or if the other user has simply deleted their Instagram account entirely. This is why, in this OneHowTo article we explain you how to know if someone blocked on Instagram.

Steps to follow:
1

To find out if you have been blocked on Instagram and see who blocked me on Instagram, follow these steps;

  1. Open your Instagram app.
  2. Go to the search bar.
  3. Type in the person who you think has blocked you’s Instagram username into the search.
2

Once you find the person you're looking for, click on their picture and name to enter his/her Instagram profile. You should be able to see his/her pictures. If you cannot see their pictures or any information, or if they don’t appear in the search bar there could be two reasons. Either, this person has blocked you from their Instagram or they have deleted their Instagram account entirely.

If the person you suspect has blocked you normally has a public account, you'll be able to find this person's name in the search bar, but once you enter into that user’s Instagram profile. Additionally, you will not be able to see his or her pictures; even though the top bar indicates the person has pictures in their profile (picture below).

However, don’t mistake this for a person who has deactivated their Instagram account or a person who has been blocked by Instagram, as this might also be the case. In fact, did you know that Instagram can also block you. For more, take a look at our article: Can Instagram Block you?

You can also use external apps to know if you have been blocked on Instagram. You can download apps such as Unfollowgram. These applications let you know who have unfollowed your account. If someone blocks you on Instagram it means that they automatically unfollow you. However, if someone unfollows you on Instagram it does not mean that they necessarily blocked you too.

3

However, if the person who has blocked you has a private account, even if you search for the person's name, it won't appear in your search.

4

If you're trying to see a person's profile but can't see it from your own Instagram account, it is likely that you've been blocked on Instagram. However, if you want to make sure that you have been blocked, you can try viewing that person's profile from another Instagram account. If you can find this profile from another account, then you can be sure that you've been blocked.

If you think that you have been blocked on Instagram, there's no use sending them a private message. This is because if you have been blocked by someone on Instagram it also means you will be blocked on instagram dm and the person will not receive your private message.

However, you can still contact a person you think has blocked you on Instagram, by mentioning them in a post or comment using @username.

5

So what happens when you get blocked on Instagram? Take a look at our article on what happens if you block someone on Instagram. The main changes include; you won’t be able to message, see or contact them through their Instagram profile.

Blocking someone on Instagram is actually fairly easy. If this person wants to block you for whatever reason, they can do so easily. You can block someone on Instagram or be blocked on Instagram by the click of a button. Once you block someone on Instagram they won’t be able to see your profile or pictures anymore. Although, you will still be able to see this person's profile if you search for it. If you want more information about how to do this, check our article on how to block someone on Instagram.

6

Someone blocked my on Instagram how do I unblock myself

If someone has blocked you on Instagram, you cannot unblock yourself. The person who has blocked you is the only person who can unblock you.

For more, we recommend reading our article where we discuss how to see if someone follows you on Instagram.

If you want to read similar articles to How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Instagram, we recommend you visit our Internet category.

Tips
  • There are various reasons why someone might block you on Instagram, but if this happens to you is better not to worry too much.
  • Don't ask for more explanations or continuously send text messages to the person that has blocked you, as this would only make things worse.