What Happens If I Block Someone on Instagram
Someone is putting too many likes and comments on Instagram or constantly mentions to you people you do not even know. The point has come where you are now bored and decide to block that user. But what does this mean? Does the person in question know that you have blocked them? Will you stop receiving unwanted notifications? To answer all these questions and many others, we at OneHowTo explain in detail what happens if you block someone on Instagram.
First of all, you should know that in the case that your Instagram account is public, anyone can see your pictures, give likes and add comments; so if you do not want this to happen, we recommend you follow the instructions in our article how to make an Instagram account private.
With this simple change you'll be able to limit the access of spam users to your account, as well as annoying brands and trolls. You'll also get more privacy, as nobody will be able to see your pictures unless you give them access to your account.
Even so, on private Instagram accounts you can also block users who do not interest you or which you consider spam. From that moment onwards, the person or company in question will no longer see your photos or videos.
Furthermore, what happens when you block someone on Instagram is that they can no longer find your account, it will look like you have been removed. However, in the case of public accounts the profile will still be accessible via web browser, typing the address:
This is the reason why, in step 1, we recommend you make your account private, to avoid annoying users being nosy and snooping into your account.
Importantly, if you block someone on Instagram that person will not receive any warning or notification. He or she will only know if they happen to notice that there are no updates from you and that they can no longer interact with you, even via private chat.
Here are some frequently asked questions that will be useful if you still have any doubts that haven't been solved:
If the person I blocked has friends in common, will they be able to view my profile?
No, as we've commented, your uploads and profile will not be visible for the blocked person. But if your profile is public the person will be able to view any comments you have written on your friend's pictures. If your account is private, you will simply stop existing for this person.
What happens if I "Like" a picture from the blocked person's profile?
A very common doubt is if the blocked person will be able to detect if you've liked one of their pictures. The answer is NO, as your like will automatically disappear. If you block someone on Instagram you won't be able to interact with such person, even if you can see their profile.
Can people find me on Instagram once I have blocked them?
No. When you block someone on Instagram your account will stop existing for that user and will not be able to find you on the app. But remember, if your account is public they can find you when searching for your name, even though they will not be able to view your profile.
If you are in the reverse situation you can check our article on how to know if someone blocked you on Instagram.
Can people start a private chat?
Again the answer is NO, you will not receive any private messages from the person you have blocked. However, the person you blocked will be able to mention you using @username so you would receive these messages on your account.
And if you want to permanently close your account, you should consult our article how to delete my Instagram account for steps to follow to complete this action.
If you'd like to read similar articles to What Happens If I Block Someone on Instagram, we recommend you browse around our Internet category.